- Trip Outline
- Trip Includes
- Trip Excludes
The Basílica Menor del Santo Niño de Cebú (Minor Basilica of the Holy Child of Cebú), commonly known as the Santo Niño Basilica, is a minor basilica in Cebu City in the Philippines that was founded in the 1565 by Fray Andrés de Urdaneta, O.S.A. and Fray Diego de Herrera, O.S.A.. The oldest Roman Catholic church in the country, it is built on the spot where the image of the Santo Niño de Cebú was found during the expedition of Miguel López de Legazpi. The icon, a statuette of the Child Jesus, is the same one presented by Ferdinand Magellan to the chief consort of Rajah Humabon upon the royal couple’s christening on April 14, 1521. It was found by a soldier named Juan de Camuz forty years later, preserved in a wooden box, after Legazpi had razed a local village. When Pope Paul VI made the church a basilica in 1965, he declared it to be “the symbol of the birth and growth of Christianity in the Philippines.”
The present building, which was completed from 1739–1740, has been designated by the Holy See as the “Mother and Head of all Churches in the Philippines” (Mater et Caput… Omnium Ecclesiarum Insularum Philippinarum)
Magellan’s Cross holds a very big part of the history of Cebu. It is believed to be a Christian cross planted by the Portuguese and Spanish exploreMagellan’s Cross holds a very big part of the history of Cebu. It is believed to be a Christian cross planted by the Portuguese and Spanish explorers headed by Ferdinand Magellan. It was planted upon their arrival in Cebu on March 15, 1521. That day also marked the birth of Christianity in the land.rs headed by Ferdinand Magellan. It was planted upon their arrival in Cebu on March 15, 1521. That day also marked the birth of Christianity in the land.
Museo Sugbo is housed in what was once called Cárcel de Cebú, the provincial jail of Cebu.
Designed in 1869 by Domingo de Escondrillas, the lone architect in Cebu at the time, the Cárcel de Cebú was originally proposed as the Cárcel del Distrito, the main prison for the Visayas District. This accounts for its relatively large size at the time it was built. After a flurry of endorsements and independent review in Manila, the project was approved and construction commenced around 1871. It is believed that most of the coral stone blocks from the Parian church – which was demolished in 1878 after the Bishop of Cebu won a long-drawn court case against its parishioners in the 1850s – were used to build parts of the cárcel. After twenty years of use, a renovation was ordered in 1892, which added more buildings behind the main structure that now serves as the first six galleries of the museum.
The Yap-San Diego Ancestral House in Parian, Cebu City is said to be the first Chinese house built outside of China. It was built during the country’s Spanish colonial era where the Chinese were required to live in the Parians of a city. Cebu’s Parian was founded in 1590 after the arrival of Chinese traders.
Cebu Taoist Temple (Chinese: 宿霧定光寶殿) is a Taoist temple located in Beverly Hills Subdivision of Cebu City, Philippines. The temple is built by Cebu’s substantial Chinese community in 1972. With an elevation of 110 metres (360 ft) above sea level, the temple is a towering, multi-tiered, multi-hued attraction accessible by three separate winding routes.
Unlike the neighboring Phu Sian Temple, the Taoist temple is open to the worshipers and non-worshipers alike. A ritual among devotees is where one prays to the gods to grant one’s wish. The ritual includes washing of hands, going inside the chapel barefoot and dropping two blocks of wood. If the blocks of wood are both face up then one could make a wish. If not then it is not yet the time for one’s wish to be granted and one has to come to the temple some other time.
The temple is the center of worship for Taoism, the religion which follows the teachings of the ancient Chinese philosopher, Lao Zi. Another ritual among Taoist devotees, which is done during Wednesdays and Sundays, is the climbing of its 81 steps (representing the 81 chapters of Taoism scriptures) to light joss sticks and have their fortune read by the monks.
Some guide books and travel agencies offer trips to the temple or as a side-trip in a tour around Cebu City. But it is more popular with grade school students.
The entrance to the temple was a replica of the Great Wall of China. The temple includes a chapel, a library, a souvenir shop and a wishing well. The spacious balconies offer a scenic view of the downtown Cebu.
This Temple was constructed in the year 2012 A.D as a symbol of my undying love for her and my ceaseless devotion to Leah Villa Albino-Adarna,
The Heritage of Cebu Monument is a tableau of sculptures made of concrete, bronze, brass and steel showing scenes about events and structures related to the history of Cebu. The construction of the monument began in July 1997 and it was finished in December 2000.
Local artist Eduardo Castrillo built the sculptures of the Cebu Heritage Monument. He and the late Senator Marcelo Fernan together with donations from other private individuals and organizations funded the construction of the monument.
The structures depicted in the Heritage Monument are the Basilica del Santo Niño, the Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral, the Saint John the Baptist Church, the Magellan’s Cross, and a Spanish Galleon.
Pick up time : 8:00AM
Proceed to Destinations:
The Basílica Menor del Santo Niño de Cebú
The Yap-San Diego Ancestral House
Temple of Leah
-----------End of Tour-----------
Back to hotel : 12:00/1:00PM
Yap-Sandiego Ancestral House
Basilica Del Sto. Nino
Lunch not included
Pricing NameMin Group SizeMax Group SizePrice
Pricing Name: City Tour Group of 1Min Group Size: 1 paxMax Group Size: 1 paxprice: /Person
Pricing Name: City Tour Group of 2-5Min Group Size: 2 paxMax Group Size: 5 paxprice: /Person
Pricing Name: City Tour Group of 6-10Min Group Size: 6 paxMax Group Size: 10 paxprice: /Person
Pricing Name: City Tour Group of 11-20Min Group Size: 11 paxMax Group Size: 20 paxprice: /Person
No Details Found